4 Thoughts on Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice

From creators of Heavenly Sword, Enslaved: Odyssey to the West and DmC: Devil May Cry, comes this atmospheric adventure to the darkness named Hel or Helheim. Ninja Theory knows their stuff and with this game title, they hit the bullseye. Well, at least in my opinion they did and here are 4 thoughts why. 

19

1. I hear voices in my head

From the start of this game, you can feel the uncomfortable pressure and doubt from these voices in your head, or headphones. Throughout every step, they are accompanying you and trying to either discourage you or cheer you up, what a great idea. But after a while you can go insane from them, ok I am just kidding, it’s really cool feature in the game.

16

2. I don’t want to leave this place because of visuals

Man, those visual are just flawless, so smooth and this environment, that is constantly changing is just awesome. Nature of visuals depends on where you are in the storyline and on your main character feelings, it can get really scary, beautiful, sad, powerful and so many other emotions real fast. The worst or the best part? Is that you are experiencing the same feelings the whole game, and it really intense experience.

17

3. The lead female character is just so believable that it is scary

The main character named Senua is so adorably likable. The game will consume you, it is because of this character, her story, her feelings – you can actually feel the same way as her, in the game. If there is some monster you must fight, your inner voice will scream with hers as you march to the battle. The battle system was kind of meh, I have some issues with it. For example, you cannot switch from one enemy to another. But this isn’t that important because the game was about the story, intense experience and journey to Viking hell.

18

4. What about that insanely good soundtrack and audiovisuals?

I dare you to listen to the whole soundtrack, it is really emotional and they also incorporated some Viking sounds in it. I Can’t forget the music, when you are starting the battle with Fire God, I mean it was that good, trust me. Don’t get me wrong the sounds effects in this game were on point too. For instance, as Senua you are facing some strong feelings towards the person you love, and those atmospheric sounds make it even more intense for you as a player. They also make the voice of doubt, the scariest voice in the whole game. Just don’t listen to her, him? I don’t know.

And Finally, for me Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice is the best game of 2017 so far. If you are into storytelling games and Viking mythology, I highly recommend it to you.

2 thoughts on “4 Thoughts on Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice

Leave a comment